Exploring the art of fiction


About Us

Welcome to CRAFT.

CRAFT is an online literary journal which explores the art of fiction. Our focus is on the craft of writing and how those elements make a good story great. We are interested in fiction that shines because of its exploration of craft. On our website, we feature new and republished fiction; critical pieces on craft; exercises; craft book summaries; and much more.

CRAFT wants to be able to work with all writers, established as well as emerging, and we also wanted to use craft as a focal point and a lens through which to present fiction.

Each published work of fiction includes an author’s note which discusses the craft in their story. We are most excited about this feature as it gives each writer the opportunity to present an inside look at their work. In some cases, authors speak about the origin of a story. Others write about a specific element, such as point-of-view or the use of time. In every case, we have been inspired to reread the story after reading the author’s note, and we hope that you will want to do the same!

Fiction will be published on Fridays. Throughout the week, we will publish other content that considers and explores the elements of craft in fiction.


CRAFT is open year-round and is available to all writers. We currently feature two separate submission categories, based on the length of the work submitted: Flash Fiction, for work under 1,000 words; and Short Fiction, for work under 7,000 words. For more information, please see our Submissions page.

In addition, we will feature select reading periods and contests throughout the year. More information to come!


All inquiries can be sent to: contact@craftliterary.com.


Managing Editor: Kim Winternheimer

Editor-in-Chief: Laura Spence-Ash

Readers: Jakob Bailey, Amy Barnes, Nicole Barney, Alex Berge, Rebekah Daniel, Tommy Dean, Andrew Erkkila, Catherine Findorak, Suzanne Grove, Natalie Harman, Jennifer Jellen, Ryanne Kap, Jesse Motte, Ashley Paul, Tom Schute

Sign up for our newsletter! Subscribers receive notification of new fiction, and exclusive content regarding craft, including craft talks, exercises, reviews, and more. You can subscribe using the email bar in the lower right-hand corner of our homepage.